The P.D. James Project

~First Published September 2009

Yet another famous mystery author, but I have read and reread her things so often that I felt it was giving an old friend short shrift to ignore her when I was writing so much about Rendell.  James has written less, but her novels are rich and the characters seem real (even if if it is odd when you realize her poet detective, Adam Dagliesh has been in the service since the early 1960’s and barely aged).  I’m a big fan.

The Novels

Cover Her Face (1962)

A Mind To Murder (1963)

Unnatural Causes (1967)

Shroud For A Nightingale (1971)

An Unsuitable Job For A Woman (1972)

The Black Tower (1975)

Death of an Expert Witness (1977)

Innocent Blood (1980)

The Skull Beneath the Skin (1982)

A Taste For Death (1986)

Devices and Desires (1989)

The Children of Men (1992)

Original Sin (1994)

A Certain Justice (1997)

Death in Holy Orders (2001)

The Murder Room (2003)

The Lighthouse (2005)

The Private Patient (2008)

Death Comes to Pemberley (2011)

The Mistletoe Murders (2016)

Non-Fiction Works

The Maul and the Pear Tree: The Ratcliffe Highway Murders (with Thomas A Critchley) (1971)

Time To Be In Earnest (2000)

Talking About Detective Fiction (2009)

© Carrie Dunsmore 2017