The Ruth Rendell Project

Originally Posted March 9, 2009


Time for a modern mystery genius - Rendell is, perhaps our generation’s Christie, and regardless is a hell of a mystery author.  She writes straight up mysteries and, under the pseudonym Barbara Vine, pretty fabulous psychological thrillers (actually I first came to Rendell through her Vine novels).  Since I’m about to go on another mad mystery re-re read I am going to make this an official Ruth Rendell project, so that I am at least being productive while I’m comfort reading - although, given the dark twisted psychopaths that inhabit so much of Rendell’s fiction, perhaps an uncomfort read is more appropos.  At least, unlike the Christie project, many of these books will be new to me.  Along with her Barbara Vine work, Rendell writes both a mystery series, starting Inspector Wexford, and stand alone mystery novels (often starring a totally creepy sociopath).  

Written as Barbara Vine (I put this first because I love the Vine novels best!):

A Dark-Adapted Eye (1986)

A Fatal Inversion (1987)

The House of Stairs (1988)

Gallowglass (1990)

King Solomon’s Carpet (1991)

Asta’s Book (1993)

No Night Is Too Long (1994)

The Brimstone Wedding (1995)

The Chimney Sweeper’s Boy (1998)

Grasshopper (2000)

The Blood Doctor (2002)

The Minotaur (2005) (and another review!)

The Birthday Present (2008)

The Child's Child (2012)

Her stand alone novels:

To Fear A Painted Devil (1965)

Vanity Dies Hard (1965)

The Secret House of Death (1968)

One Across, Two Down (1971)

The Face of Trespass (1974)

A Demon in My View (1976)

A Judgement in Stone (1977)

Make Death Love Me (1979)

The Lake of Darkness (1980)

Master of the Moor (1982)

The Killing Doll (1984)

The Tree of Hands (1984)

Live Flesh (1986)

Talking to Strange Men (1987)

The Bridesmaid (1989)

Going Wrong (1990)

The Crocodile Bird (1993)

The Keys to the Street (1996)

A Sight for Sore Eyes (1998)

Adam and Eve and Pinch Me (2001)

The Rottweiler (2003)

Thirteen Steps Down (2004)

The Water’s Lovely (2006)

Portobello (2008)

Tigerlily’s Orchids (2011)

The St. Zita Society (2012)

The Girl Next Door (2015)

Dark Corners (2016)

The Inspector Wexford Mysteries:

From Doon With Death (1964)

A New Lease of Death (1967) (aka The Sins of the Fathers) 

Wolf to the Slaughter (1967)

The Best Man to Die (1969)

A Guilty Thing Surprised (1970)

No More Dying Then (1971)

Murder Being Once Done (1972)

Some Lie and Some Die (1973)

Shake Hands Forever (1975)

A Sleeping Life (1979)

Put on By Cunning (1981) (aka Death Notes

The Speaker of Mandarin (1983)

An Unkindness of Ravens (1985)

The Veiled One (1988)

Kissing the Gunner’s Daughter (1992)

Simisola (1994)

Road Rage (1997)

Harm Done (1999)

The Babes in the Wood (2002)

End in Tears (2005)

Not in the Flesh (2007)

The Monster in the Box (2009)

The Vault (2011)

No Man's Nightingale (2013)

Novellas and Short Story Collections:

The Fallen Curtain (1976)

The Means of Evil (1979)

The Fever Tree (1982)

The New Girlfriend (1985)

The Copper Peacock (1991)

Blood Lines (1995)

Piranha to Scurfy (2000)

Collected Short Stories Volume 1 (2006)

Collected Short Stories Volume II (2008)

© Carrie Dunsmore 2017